MobileOrg is cool

February 8, 2012 at 4:55 am 4 comments

Recently I began to use mobileOrg to synchronize my org file with
iphone. It works great. Now I can look at my schedule and use Capture in
iphone. The Work flow like this:

For emacs to iphone,

  • Run in emacs:
M-x org-mobile-push

or C-c C-x RET p

This will push org file to a Dropbox folder which share with iphone

  • Click sync button in iphone and thus update the org-file in iphone

For iphone to emacs,

  • Add note in Iphone
  • Run in emacs:
M-x org-mobile-pull

or C-c C-x RET g

Now notes are located in flagged.org, you can open it and use C-c C-w
to refile to other places.

Entry filed under: Emacs. Tags: .

Ssh tunnel for security web access in insecure web connection

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex Bennee  |  February 8, 2012 at 10:16 am

    I’ve been trying to get it working with WebDav (not really wanting to run random closed binaries on my server). But so far with little success. I can at least browse the current state of the notes on my phone which is useful.

    Reply
    • 2. vocalfolds  |  February 8, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      I have not so far tried WebDav. I use dropbox to do this job. It looks easier to me.

      Reply
  • 3. dave f  |  February 8, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    For those concerned about encryption, Org-Mode can encrypt and decrypt on display so the actual content that lives on dropbox is safely encrypted. MobileOrg has instructions for how to setup encryption.

    Reply
  • 4. Matthew  |  February 9, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    I’ve used WebDav on both the iPhone and Android versions of MobleOrg. Works well. Android also supports sync via SSH.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 980 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

